Help a student journalist - the importance of EQing

Feb 27, 2012

1. AwesomeQ

AwesomeQ
    1,492 posts
    Since Jun 24, 2008
    hello chaps, as the title states I am a student journalist and at current I am attempting to write a feature about the importance of EQing in electronic music. I need some primary source quotes and I couldn't think of somewhere I would rather ask than here.

Any responses will be greatly appreciated, and those suitable will be used within my article. Of course a link can be provided to it when it is finished.

So here are the questions:-

1 - How important is equalising to you, when you create music digitally?
    2- Do you have any handy tips when EQing certain elements in your productions, e.g. drums, bass, midrange synths etc?

Thanks in advance.
  2. luthatron \o/ Lord Wavey \o/

luthatron
    42,245 posts
    Since Feb 3, 2004
    It's the most important effect there is imo.
  3. ossuss

ossuss
    4,445 posts
    Since Aug 23, 2002
    it's on every channel on a mixer for a reason,

you doing a minor in philoshophy??
  4. AwesomeQ

AwesomeQ
    1,492 posts
    Since Jun 24, 2008

nope journalism, broad subject which makes it more difficult imo. usually i would fake the primary quotes but i felt like doing it by the book this time.
  5. majin Psyker

majin
    111 posts
    Since Sep 19, 2011
    I'll give it a shot

1- It's almost necessary when trying to achieve a clear mix, but if that's not your goal, you can live without it by using sounds that don't overlap much in the frequency spectrum.

2- Do narrow cuts, where your kicks and snares hit hardest, in your basses and leads (Usually between 80 and 200Hz).
  6. Cybernetika

Cybernetika
    497 posts
    Since Feb 14, 2008