KOAN sound/Culprate Immaculate Bass?

May 1, 2011

1. producedbyHANS

producedbyHANS
    3 posts
    Since Apr 30, 2011
    hey everyone

ive been wanting to know about this bass sound for a while now, its like a reese/dubstep wobble hybrid that alot of the dubsaw recordings guys use:

drop for both tracks is at 54 sec

how does he get that bone shattering crunch? its so compact and punchy :melody:

im still relatively new to distorted bass sounds, so ive been reading up alot and experimenting on my own, but would anyone have any tips to help me out?

i read that tutorial by polymass about granular synthesizing basslines+resampling and i think thats about as close as ive been able to find. seems like these dubsaw guys use a lot of the same technique, layering sub+mid distorted reese+granulized sample.

thanks for reading this, looking forward to any replies!

cheers,

hans from tokyo
  2. bloodrobots Hexakosioihexekontahexa

bloodrobots
    112 posts
    Since Dec 2, 2010
    We have the technology to rebuild this bass, my people are working on it around the clock.
  3. prosthetic_jesus hobo-ninja

prosthetic_jesus
    1,320 posts
    Since Aug 18, 2004

wait until you hear what Culprate has in store for us on our new Panzer Incus imprint (dark and heavy d&b)

murder knows a new name

:slayer::slayer:
  4. Manny

Manny
    149 posts
    Since Nov 23, 2010
    i know you mr can give tips i mean have you heard your sig :eek:
    :teeth:
  5. polymass

polymass
    685 posts
    Since Jan 15, 2011
    Dont stare yourself to death on the whole granular - frequency splitting thing.

First you need a good source. Spend a weekend or 2 with your favourite synth (digi or hard). Read the manual. Tbh, sometimes a good fx xhain and bass synth patch is 90% of sound.

Then use the techniques explained in all the tut's about resampling.