Absolutely at wits end with the local scene atm

Music Discussion | Mar 19, 2017 at 12:19 PM

1. Near Edge

Near Edge

Near Edge

94 posts
    Since Sep 29, 2016
    So i'm based in perth, Australia whichhas a pretty healthy dnb scene with normally 1-2 events each week. Yet the same few DJs seem to dominate the scene it seems next to impossible to get a chance to spin and if you do its only a few gigs over a year. That is unless you are within the "in" crew. I have been spinning for close to 12 years now and I am this close to giving it up because of the frustration I am feeling of not getting any gigs. I work it and turn up to gigs to support them and meet with promoters who run the nights to try and get a chance to be put on but it just isnt happening. Just wondering if its like this in other parts of the world especially the UK. Is it so "close knit" that barely anyone gets to spin than a select few? Or is it more open?
  2. Visceral

Visceral

Visceral

1,534 posts
    Since Aug 14, 2007
    Thats just how it is in small cities bro, unless you smoke meth with the "big boys" then you ain't down to spin dat shit. I am in the same city as you bro so I kno...

P.S. I got some great advice for you....

Start producing

/thread
  3. Kabal, Mister Shifter, nise1 and 7 others like this.

Claaart Kent Incognito

Claaart Kent

Claaart Kent Incognito

795 posts
    Since Jan 31, 2009
    Speaking from previous experience as a promoter in a big city with a small scene, the problem is usually that there are more DJs than there are opportunities to play. If you have a crew, then everybody from your crew has to get their turn to play at each party before you even think about inviting outsiders in.

A constructive suggestion would be to organise your own parties, and invite some of the bigger locals names to play and thus ingratiate yourself further with the local scene.
    Kabal, Mister Shifter, nise1 and 7 others like this.
  4. Visceral likes this.

Near Edge

Near Edge