Am I crazy?? Going oldskool...

Production | Oct 13, 2016

1. Roachie Official DOA Emberist #3

Roachie

Roachie Official DOA Emberist #3

6,097 posts
    Since Mar 10, 2008
    Ez dogs,

So I've been making tunes for about 10 years now. Got into it through acid pro/reason then onto ableton.

I've always been fascinated by 90s dnb/jungle. How the tunes were made on hardware. I was a bit too young for this era.

So, after being uninspired over the past year or so, I've decided to save a bit of cash and try to replicate a 90's type set up. Maybe the change will do me good! Added bonus that I can still import shiz into ableton etc if needs be (though I'm really planning not to except to record the master)

I'm thinking...

Atari ST
    Cubase
    Control Keyboard
    Mackie 1604
    Emu e6400 (bought one 2 years ago, plugged it in twice)
    Cheap quadrverbs/fx units
    Guitar pedals for send fx (have fuck loads)
    1210s
    Maybe a finalizer or sutin?

Am I mental? probably... any tips from the older dogs?
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  2. Sal_Paradise, zensound, MiL0 and 4 others like this.

R0llin

R0llin

R0llin

742 posts
    Since Mar 6, 2016
    Sounds like good fun. This guy's youtube channel is like a step back in time. Might give you some further inspiration. ..

jv1080 & wavestation PADS! (not slap bass and...
    Sal_Paradise, zensound, MiL0 and 4 others like this.
  3. DJ_Klame and snakepiece like this.

Roachie

6,097 posts
    Since Mar 10, 2008
    Wicked will check that. In no means trying to make the next Timeless... just want to try something different. Like doing up a classic car or summin, but with bass :teeth:
    DJ_Klame and snakepiece like this.
  4. djeast likes this.

luthatron \o/

luthatron

luthatron \o/

53,685 posts
    Since Feb 3, 2004
    avoid the atari just use your computer. I had one and it's a real pain in the arse having to boot off a floppy and save to floppy etc.