hardtek bass help?

Production | Jul 12, 2014

1. elk

elk

elk

75 posts
    Since Jul 12, 2014
    hi their im pretty new to the production side of thing so still learning. the problem ive got this now is getting that rolling/pumping kick bass you get in most tekno tunes. ive tried searching online but most the stuff ive found is in french or a bit vauge. was hoping someone here could help me out. i am using ableton 8.

cheers
    elk
  2. luthatron \o/

luthatron

luthatron \o/

52,990 posts
    Since Feb 3, 2004
    maybe a sine wave with an envelope to pitch? or you could use a 808 or 909 tom sample.

You may want to sidechain it to the kick too, to get it pumping.

It's the sort of sound where you need to programme a pattern (probably just offbeat) and then adjust the synth as it plays.
  3. Full Monty

Full Monty

Full Monty

613 posts
    Since Mar 31, 2014
    Did you really search online? Because there are lots of tutorials on how to do this. The rolling effect is just kickdrums with different velocities. Search for some good 909 kickdrums. Search for "schranz" tutorials as well.

Good luck.

[Tutorial HD] How to make a simple...
  4. Meckler

Meckler

Meckler

417 posts
    Since Oct 12, 2008
    Erm that's one way to do it but there are others... Depends on what you're tying to make. I usually use a kick and completely separate sub and bass layers. I shape these with envelopes and move with ableton's delay function until I get a groove going. If you posted examples of the type of thing you're trying to make that'd be helpful :smile: Safe
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
  5. ChewyJetpack and Wraith like this.

elk

elk

elk

75 posts
    Since Jul 12, 2014
    ChewyJetpack and Wraith like this.
  6. Full Monty

Full Monty

Full Monty

613 posts
    Since Mar 31, 2014
    Thats a simple sawtooth bass sidechained to the kickdrum with a sinus sub underneath. Check out the Ueberschall drum samples for kicks like this. Good luck.